top of page
  • Writer's pictureMomes

Misadventures in Natureland Park

Updated: May 11, 2022


While browsing the parks in Walworth county, I came across Natureland Park. Natureland sounds like a playground made of nature...it is not (though now that I think about it, that sounds like a LOT of fun!). Having been on many adventures with Kristi and her children, it was time to bring someone new with me. Enter Judi and her Corgi Eevee! I was so excited for them to come and hike with me!! I love Corgis and I don't get to see my old work friend Judi very often.

^ That's Eevee!

So here is a little bit about the park taken from the Walworth County website:


"Natureland’s 122 acres contain 4 hiking trails, which provide an opportunity to observe the beautiful Kettle Moraine terrain. Springs and wetlands support a variety of vegetation, displaying the ecological diversity found in the park."


The great thing about this park is that a lot of the land is fairly level. Also, all of the trails are relatively short. This is great for people who are trying to get back into shape or have health issues that might make it hard to go hiking but they still want to be able to go out and experience nature. It also had a large variety of nature to look at. There was the lake, wetlands, wooded areas and prairie lands so there was a little bit of everything!

I also really loved the diversity in plant life. I have recently become interested in mushrooms, and while I am not necessarily interested in foraging or eating mushrooms, I think they are really cool to look at and I want to learn what the different types are! We saw so many mushie friends!

If you have been here before, I also have been slowly(?) dipping my toes into the world of insects and arachnids. So naturally I stopped to take a picture of every one that I saw (get used to it! It's going to be a thing for a while)!


That being said: I AM POSTING PICTURES OF BUGS NOW! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!


The first two are mostly webs, but they looked cool. Also pictured above is a Large Milkweed Bug, a Harvestman (they aren't spiders. they only have 6 legs) and a Ladybug!


All in all, I REALLY love this nature park! I have been here multiple times since this adventure and I'm sure there will be more to come!



As I post these pictures and such, I always take photos of the garbage I see along the way (I REALLY need to start carrying gloves and a trash bag). PLEASE do not throw your trash away on the trails! Take your rubbish with you and dispose of it at the nearest garbage bin. There is a garbage and recycle dumpster at the entrance of the park plus a bathroom with garbage cans. Also, don't destroy the wildlife either. If you see a puffball mushroom...resist the urge. Don't kick it. Leave the park how you found it or better. Thank you.


If you would like to know more information about this park, here is the Walworth County website:


Want the address?

Natureland Park

W8338 Territorial Road

Whitewater, WI 53190


Want more content from me?

TikTok - @peachyfishy

Instagram - @supermomochan


(adventure happened Oct. 6th, 2020)


Bonus picture!


Because I'm weird. Deal with it.


Comentários


bottom of page