top of page
  • Writer's pictureMomes

Best Sushi I Ever Ate: Podcast Tie-in


So, it's no surprise to anyone that I hated my two weeks in Paris. Everyone I talk to about Europe, specifically France, I tell them about my terrible time in Paris. It smelled, people were rude, it was crowded and just meh. I really have no desire to go back...which is unfortunate because there is so many amazing things to see in Paris. I never got to go to the catacombs, which was a dream of mine. I want to go to the museums again and explore them by myself, at my own pace. I want to see the gardens of Versailles in bloom! We were there too early in the year and I DIDN'T GET TO SEE ANY FLOWERS!!! The fountains weren't even on!!!!! I wanna see it in its full glory! I didn't get to spend ANY time in Versailles...I felt rushed because of the aggressive flow of people. I want to be able to experience the palace from my favorite era! UGH!


I digress...

(the view from our hotel room)


First place I spoke about in this episode was St. Denis. I loved my time here! I really wish I could have experienced it the way I would have wanted to. I also want to photograph it with a better camera! My camera was so old when I went!! This one didn't even begin to capture how beautiful this church was.

So cool.


The next place I spoke about was Palais Garnier (Opéra Garnier or Paris Opera). My pictures do not do this building any justice. It is so opulent and breathtaking. While not filmed there, the 2004 version of Phantom of the Opera looks a lot like the actual opera house. The 1990's mini series was apparently filmed there, but I haven't seen it, so I don't actually know.

AHHHH I WANT TO SEE IT AGAIN!!! But as you can see, it was FULL of people...I was trying to keep my cool.


And lastly, the reason we are all here, the sushi. These photos do nothing for it. Nothing at all. But trust me, it was delicious.

woooow did I also misremember everything about this shop...

This shop was located at 5 rue Monge, from what I can tell from a map of Paris, rue Monge has a lot of restaurants on it and is also part of the Latin Quarter. I've linked some more information if anyone is interested in looking, but it is definitely a busy street...which also explains why the hotel was so LOUD!


Anyway~ The best sushi I ever ate was in Paris! It was a rough day that day and I really think that ending that day with that sushi was a shining moment in a pile of semi-crappy ones. I have many more stories about my time in Paris, so if you want to hear more, I got 'em!


Links for your casual browsing:

St. Denis:

Paris Opera:

Rue Monge:


My socials:

Twitter:


Podcast:

The episode:



Extras:


This picture cracks me up. Why?

She popped up in my picture at the right time. She even has a cheeky little smile on her face. Love it.

I looked up and saw this couple making out on the balcony.



Comments


bottom of page