top of page
  • Writer's pictureMomes

Kishwauketoe Misadventure

Updated: May 11, 2022


Earlier in the year, my friend Zali and I went on an adventure through Kishwauketoe and then on the Geneva Lake Trail (Lakeshore Path). I was really taken aback by the beauty of the area and I really wanted to go and explore more of Kishwauketoe Nature Conservancy (especially because I didn't get to see that much of it on my first adventure).


A Short History:

Kishwauketoe was purchased in 1989 and officially became a nature conservancy in 1990. The area was originally inhabited by the Potawatomi, so when naming the park they thought they should pay homage to the people who lived there first. Kishwauketoe is loosely translated as, "Clear Water" or "Lake of the Sparkling Water." The conservancy is run by volunteers and donations. Their goal is to get people out into nature, remove the invasive species and return the native plants to the area. They have so far restored over 65 acres of prairie, keep 4 miles of maintained trails, have a 15 acre arboretum, and do annual burns to manage the invasive species.

When it comes to hiking, I really like to pick up a trail map if they are available. Not only do they give you an idea of what you might be getting into, they also make good souvenirs for scrapbooks or bullet journals! I also think it is important to go with your gut feeling. The color of the arrows at the beginning of a path, the way the light looks shining through the trees, or the smell/feel of the wind. I have had many amazing adventures based off of gut feelings and totally recommend them! It is also why I have so many misadventures...but hey! I always have fun!


Wisconsin has never been my favorite place. Smells like cow poop most of the year. Nothing to do unless you like hiking, fishing, hunting or outdoor sports. I hated all of those growing up. As I got older, I began to realize how beautiful Wisconsin actually is. How natural and wild it can be. I love looking out at the cornfields, the woods, the rivers and the lakes. Yes, it still smells like cow poop 90% of the time, and we don't have any mountains, but that doesn't mean it isn't a beautiful state. I think Wisconsin is highly underrated.



I've also recently gotten into bugs. I have hated/been afraid of them all my life, and as I've gotten older, I've grown to appreciate them more. Growing up, I've always loved Pond Skaters. I love how they glide so carefree on the water! They soothe me. I also think they make cool shadows. What's your favorite insect? Is that a weird question?

I also like finding random things on hikes. Like observation towers or look-outs. I don't know what it is about them, but when I see them, I need to climb them.


And boardwalks. I get so excited for boardwalks. Is it just me?




What are some of your favorite things to look for on hikes?

(Bugs (Grasshopper), random benches, dead trees, sign posts, mushrooms, strange human things (sticker), cool plants, cool trees)

Kishwauketoe has multiple trails to end your adventure, but my favorite way is to end by the lake. When I did the lake trail earlier this year, I loved the sight of the lake peaking through the tall cattails. Geneva Lake is so pretty. Naturally, I wanted to end my adventure here. It was a peaceful way to end an amazing hike (I did get a little lost and had to back track a lot...hence the title of misadventure).


Well that's that! I really had a blast exploring this area and I hope you all enjoyed coming along with me! This is my first blog like this, so if there is something that you liked about it or some things you would like to see in the future, let me know! I am open to suggestions! I will leave the rest of the photos below, and a link to the YouTube video I made that went with it!! Please check it out if you would like to see more of this (mis)adventure! Until next time!

(click the arrows to go through the photos)


I also make TikToks!

@peachyfishy


Want more photos? Follow my Instagram!

@supermomochan


For more information:

Kishwauketoe Nature Conservancy

251 Elkhorn Rd, Williams Bay, WI 53191

If you are interested in Kishwauketoe merchandise, joining a class or considering volunteering, check out either of these sites!


Bonus photo of Hazel!~ She was sleeping on my bed when I got home


Comments


bottom of page