top of page
  • Writer's pictureMomes

Beloit Misadventures pt. 2: Abandoned Wheeler Ave. Bridge

Updated: May 11, 2022


With Roosevelt Park being a bit of a let down for me, my dad decided that I needed to see something cooler. While having a huge phobia of heights and water, the mere mention of visiting an old abandoned bridge made me anxious and also excited. I love bridges, especially old ones, but that doesn't necessarily want to be on one...So we went anyway!



The bridge was beautiful and overgrown. I fell in love with it. I totally understood why my dad wanted to show it to me.


I did a lot of research on this bridge and thought it was a completely different bridge until now. I thought this was the historic Turtleville Iron Bridge...but upon further research...it is the Prospect St./Wheeler Ave. Bridge...


While the Turtleville Bridge is an important historical site because all that remains of the Town of Turtleville is a cemetery and the bridge, this bridge...is not as important. On one side of the bridge, you are in Beloit, Wisconsin. On the other side you can see South Beloit, Illinois. Yay.


I could not find a lot of information on the Prospect Street Bridge (I believe this is the Wisconsin side of the bridge's name), the information that I did find wasn't all that exciting. It is a truss bridge built in the 1890s and closed in 1995. At one point the cities wanted to demolish it to build a better bridge for a bike path, but they decided it wasn't financially worth it. Now it is home to the homeless and drunk/high teenagers.


Would I recommend this place? Absolutely! It is gorgeous in a sad and dilapidated way. The views of Turtle Creek are beautiful and the architecture is also beautiful. I would love to see this bridge restored (not rebuilt). I just wouldn't go here in the evening or at night. I don't really think it would be a safe place to go after dark.


Here is some more information on this bridge. It's only two sites, but there are other shots of the bridge that I didn't take. The Bridge Hunter site has some information on the make and build.


Want more content from me?

TikTok: @peachyfishy

Instagram: @supermomochan


(Trip was taken 10/10/2020)




...........I'm such an idiot.........


Comentarios


bottom of page