top of page
  • Writer's pictureMomes

I Don't Remember Ireland...Podcast Tie-in

Updated: Mar 14, 2023


Ireland...I wish I could say I loved you and that I missed you...But I honestly remember nothing.

Looking through all the pictures, very few memories were brought back to the surface. Hardly any, if I am completely honest.


Here is what I mostly remember about Ireland:


Yeah, I don't know what it was called...Wicklow National Park? I think it was Wicklow...I only guess that because it was an entire album in my photos (it included most of the pictures from that day) and when I googled it, it had similar scenery. I just remember it was really nice here! It felt like a fairy tale! The woods were so green and mossy! The water was so perfect! And ducks. I love ducks.


A really cool old cemetery! I THINK it is Glendalough? Apparently this is a monetary town? I had no knowledge of this when I was there...I just remembered I love being in cemeteries and this one was so full of energy and "art"...It was really beautiful. I have a lot more pictures, but I will post them in another episode/post if you all want to see more. I DID convince that one girl that the tower that is there was the tower that inspired Rapunzel. She got all excited and took a ton of pictures. I told her to think about Rapunzel and the origin of the story...It's German. Not Irish. She thought it was pretty funny. I would love to go back here and really explore it....but I could say that for most of this country.

This is Glencree! I took a picture of the sign, so that was smart of me. Hahaha This is the German Military Cemetery! I didn't take a lot of pictures here. It was kind of spooky, actually.


I remembered this place!! This is Powerscourt Gardens! Not all of the flowers had bloomed yet, as it was still pretty early in the year, but I remember it was gorgeous! My favorite area was definitely the Japanese Gardens, but I remember there was a tower and a pet cemetery there, which was pretty cool! 10/10 recommend!


Other things I remembered but I have no pictures of:

I was right! I did go to Trinity College and I did see the Book of Kells...but I don't remember much about it other than the library and the medical tool exhibit!

(Researcher Momes here! The Book of Kells is a famous old manuscript from the medieval period. It is written in Latin and is highly illustrated. It also contains the four gospels of the New Testament. Photography of the book is forbidden, but I could have taken pictures of the library...which I obviously didn't)


I DID go to a pub other than the one mentioned! In fact, I went to the oldest pub in Ireland, The Brazen Head Pub! I had apparently taken a brochure/pamphlet from there. I actually just found it in my "pile of memories" folder, hahaha! I don't remember what I at or what it looked like inside, but I remember it was dark and pub-y? It was also apparently established in 1198. I can't even imagine.


Things I DO remember!:

Guinness Factory Tour

This is why I don't remember Ireland...



I do not look, even the least bit, well. Mostly because I was not. I never finished that drink. I think I got less than 1/3 of the way through and I had to call it quits...I really don't remember much after this either...I remember the pub behind the hostel...I remember rum and coke, an Australian guy we had met somewhere else had decided to join us...I can't remember where we met him...I remember really bad karaoke and I remember this:

A memorial to my shoes. They leaked in the end and they were cracking and just ready to be done. They served me well.


So yeah...That was Ireland...I have a few more pictures from my adventures above, but other than that, that's all I remember of Ireland because those are the only photos I took of Ireland. I was just trying to survive.


Before I leave you, here are some bonus pictures


Our Professor! His classes were super dry, but he was passionate about learning and educating, plus he was really kind. I have some really fond memories of our 3 month journey!


My Scotland sweatshirt that I got from my friend Jock in Scotland. The one I lost on the way home. (behind me is Arthur's Seat, also in Scotland). The hat is cool, but it's just not the same. I need to go back so I can get a new one!


If you are interested in learning more about the places I mentioned above, here are some links that I used to re-research them!

Wicklow:


Glendalough:


Glencree:


Trinity College:

Book of Kells:


The Brazen Head Pub:


Boudica by Enya:


Thank you so much for stopping by! If you are interested, here are my links!~


Twitter:

Podcast:


(for donations)

Kofi:

Throne:


Until next time!~





HOW DID ANYONE THINK I WAS OK?!?!?!

コメント


bottom of page