top of page
  • Writer's pictureMomes

Spring Grove: Delavan Wisconsin's Historic Circus Cemetery

Updated: May 11, 2022


I have always found cemeteries peaceful. I love quiet they are and seeing all the historic names and how ornate the headstones are. I know it can be seen as taboo to enjoy cemeteries. To find solace amongst the dead is macabre and creepy to some. I used to think so as well. I'm also used to being seen as weird so it really doesn't bother me too much anymore. I've learned that if you love something, as long as you aren't hurting yourself or anyone else, then go ahead and enjoy what you want.


Delavan Wisconsin is known for being the home of many circuses. Spring Grove was established in 1866, so there is a long history of circus members being buried there. Not only does this cemetery have a lot of circus folk, it also is the final resting place for many other interesting people: Daughters of the American Revolution, World War I and II veterans, vets of the Korean War, pastors and firefighters who served for the City of Delavan.


The headstones come in all shapes and sizes; from monolithic family markers to tiny worn and barely legible stones. Unfortunately there are a lot of broken headstones due to age and vandalism. I know the historic society is trying to preserve as much as they can through public donations and volunteers. I'm not personally a member, but I'll leave their information below if you would like to know more about donating, volunteering, or about the City of Delavan itself.


Without further ado, enjoy the photos! You can click on an image to get a better view!

If you found this trip through the cemetery interesting, please go and check out your local cemeteries! They are fascinating places to learn about the history of that area and they are peaceful and relaxing. Please remember that most cemeteries are public property and do not litter or vandalize the grounds or the headstones. Pick up all trash and be respectful of the dead. Don't be loud, as there might be other people there either enjoying the space or mourning a loved one. Regardless of your religious beliefs or whether or not you believe in ghosts, please be respectful of the dead. Say a prayer if you need to, ask permission to enter if you think it would be a good gesture. Don't try to be Zak Bagans from Ghost Adventures and antagonize the dead, hahaha.


For more information on Delavan:


Try my TikTok!

@peachyfishy


bonus photos can be found on my Instagram: @supermomochan

Comentarios


bottom of page