top of page
  • Writer's pictureMomes

Hello, Friend!

Updated: May 11, 2022

Hey guys!


This definitely isn't everyone's cup of tea, but I've gotten really into insects and arachnids over the past couple of months (thanks 2020 quarantine) and I've started taking notice of them.


Thanks to various YouTube channels, I have been educating myself on spiders, in particular, and I have become the spider hero in my family. Whenever we find one, I catch it in a cup and find it a nice new place to live...outside...away from my mother.


Today I found this not so bitty spider chilling outside next to our garbage can, eating up all the things that hover around garbage. Naturally, my arachnophobe mom wanted this big girl gone (Probably female, correct me if I'm wrong please!)

So I got my catch cup and proceeded to get her.



As you can see, she is a big girl, so I decided to take her somewhere that would be super safe. I live in a marshy area that is surrounded by trees and other nice secluded areas that spiders would find acceptable to live, so we went on a bit of a walk. I'm sure I looked strange walking down the street in my bright floral dress (mom was calling me Barbie) with my blue flamingo party cup containing a large orb weaver!


We ended up going to this place up the street from me that I call the "boat graveyard" (it used to be full of abandoned boats), and I let her go at the edge of the road and into the trees.



I'm not sure what species of orb weaver she is, I think she might be a Shamrock Orb-Weaver (Araneus trifolium), but I'm not entirely sure. If you know, please let me know so that I can educate myself! I'm new to spiders and I want to learn more about these funny critters.

Here is a short video I took of her walking away! Best of luck, friend!!~


I also make TikToks! (with lots more bug content!)

@peachyfishy


Want more photos (also including more bugs!!)

@supermomochan

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page